Federal Executive




Dr Hugo Sachs


A New South Wales rural practitioner who graduated from University of Sydney in 1979, Hugo received a Master of Dental Surgery in 1993. Holding fellowships with a number of organisations including the International College of Dentists, he has served as an ADA NSW Councillor since 1999, holding the presidency in 2003 and 2004. In addition, he has been a tutor at the School of Dentistry at Charles Sturt University since 2010. A Rotarian since 1985, he has twice served as Club President and maintains an active interest in rugby union and alpaca breeding.


Dr Carmelo Bonanno


Graduating in 1986, Carmelo practises in the ACT and Queanbeyan, which includes a referral based practice offering dental treatment under sedation. He has served the ADA in a number of key positions including as President of the NSW Branch (2001-2002), and as the current Chair of the Schedule and Third Party Committee, which he has served on since 1997. Carmelo is a fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International, the International College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. He has served on the Dental Board of Australia from 2009 to 2012. 


Dr Terry Pitsikas AM


A dental surgeon who graduated from the University of Western Australia in 1977, Terry has worked in both private rural practice and government mobile rural dental clinics. Commencing his involvement with the ADA in 1990 via the WA Branch where has twice served as President, he was appointed an ADA Federal Councillor in 1998. Terry was the inaugural Chair of the Western Australian Dental Foundation, a position to which he was recently re-elected. Terry is active in the Variety Club, raising money for Princess Margaret Hospital and other needy children’s charities.


Dr Mark Hutton

Executive Councillor

Since his graduation from Adelaide University in 1975, Mark has been active on a range of local issues including water fluoridation in Mt Gambier where his practice is located, Mark has been ADA South Australia Country Councillor since 1996, serving as president of the branch in 2004 and 2007. Elected to the Federal Council in 2004, Mark has actively contributed to a number of committees such as the Policy Committee, which he has chaired since 2014. Additionally, he is a Fellow of the International College of Dentists, a Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International and a Fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy.


A/Prof Neil Hewson

Executive Councillor

Qualifying as a dentist in 1976 from the University of Melbourne, Neil established a successful private practice in Melbourne after working overseas in the UK and Denmark. He has been an ADA Victoria Branch Councillor since 1987, serving as its President in 1995/96 and representing it on other organisations’ committees. He has also been a Federal Councillor since 1996 active on a number of committees, several of which he has chaired. An active contributor to the Melbourne Dental School, where he is a Clinical Associate Professor, he has contributed to a number of publications.